What I ate for a Day – Gluten Free, Dairy Free Edition

For those of you who follow Bordeaux Nutrition on Facebook you may have seen that Renee has spent the last two weeks traveling around France eating gluten-free and dairy-free. With that, and to relate to my last post, I decided to document a day of my eats following a gluten-free, dairy-free diet for the day. While I am not 100% free of either food category, I do try to avoid most dairy as I have found that I do have problems with it.  And as far as gluten, I have done 100% gluten free at times, but often just tend to limit my intake of it because I am including other foods.

I’ve always felt that it is important to not only be knowledgeable about different diets and dietary restrictions, but to also experience what it’s like to eat that way.  I like being able to recommend meals, snacks and products that fit each diet.  Here is what a gluten-free, dairy-free day looks like in my life:

20150604_074054Breakfast – 2 slices Whole Grain Gluten Free Bread from Aldi topped with 1/2 an avocado + 2 hard boiled eggs + iced coffee with Trader Joe’s Coconut Creamer.

20150604_075709Lunch – Salad made of baby spinach, mixed greens, shredded carrots, cucumber, red and yellow peppers, grape tomatoes, and grilled chicken with balsamic vinaigrette dressing. Watermelon on the side.

20150604_164532Throughout the day – This cup filled up twice with water and once with Starbucks Cold brewed iced coffee with coconut milk.

20150604_164150

Afternoon Snack – Silk Soymilk Yogurt in Tropical Mango flavor with shredded coconut and chia seeds.  This is the best tasting, dairy free yogurt I have found. It also has 6g of protein that you won’t find in almond or coconut based yogurts.  I’ve tried a number of flavors and this is my favorite, the only one I didn’t like was the vanilla.

20150604_203459Dinner – A mix of left overs that happened to work…grilled chicken, homemade pork fried rice and green beans with olive oil and garlic salt.  I was really hungry post-run so I added a banana with all natural peanut butter, too.

20150604_204628

20150604_215636Night snack – Blue corn chips with pine nut hummus and more water, while watching Netflix of course.  You only get a picture of the bag because it was literally all crumbs and I made a total mess trying to eat them with the hummus.

So that’s a day of gluten-free, dairy-free eats. As I’ve mentioned before I like to focus on foods that are naturally gluten-free (rice, corn chips) and limit the processed replacement products (gluten-free bread).  Luckily, when it comes to milk, cream, yogurt and even ice cream there are a number of acceptable dairy-free substitutes. You can follow the blog, as well as the Bordeaux Nutrition Facebook Page for more gluten-free, dairy-free meals, recipes, and products.

Please remember, we all have individual needs based on our height, weight, age, activity level, and goals so this post is not intended to be recommendation for amounts anyone else should eat, but rather just to show balanced options for a gluten-free, dairy-free lifestyle.

For personalized recommendations, schedule an appointment with a Registered Dietitian. If you’re in CT check us out at Bordeaux Nutrition, if not you can find an RD near you by using the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics website.

