Homemade Nut Butter

Alright, well this post isn’t about my progress with the ALCAT because I ended up getting some more blood work and allergy testing and didn’t really do the whole plan yet. I decided today was my official start day and bought a couple gluten free items to try and spent extra time reading labels when grocery shopping.

One thing I’ve definitely figured out from my shopping/research/thinking about this new eating plan is that I’m going to have to make most snacky foods myself. It’s nearly impossible to find pre-made snacks that don’t include any of the foods I’m supposed to be avoiding (wheat, canola oil, safflower oil, etc).  Nearly anything made with oil has an ingredient label that says “Canola and/or safflower and/or soybean oil”.

Example ingredient list of Trader Joe’s Organic Rice Drink

If you’ve read my previous posts you may have picked up on my love of peanut butter. I’m pretty sure I find a way to eat peanut butter every day.  I also really like almond butter, but almond is on my mild sensitivity list so I’m trying to avoid those too. So in effort to mix up my nut butters a little I picked up some sunflower seed butter–yum! It is soo good if you like sun flower seeds. To get to my point (I promise I’m not just rambling random thoughts)…I decided to try my hand at making my own nut butter.  I thought about it and realized I’ve never seen pecan butter. I love pecans (well mostly pecan pie, shh) so I decided to give it a whirl (pun intended).

Nut butters are actually wicked easy to make. About 8oz of nuts yields a cup of nut butter.

Step (1) Pick the nut(s) of your choice
Step (2) Lightly roast nuts if that’s the flavor you’re going for (I roasted the pecans in a skillet for about 7minutes)
Step (3) Throw in the food processor (I used my beloved Ninja) and process until creamy, buttery consistency. Scrap down the sides with a spatula as needed.
Step (4) Optional: Add salt, sugar, honey, additional spices, chopped nuts, whatever your heart desires.  For the pecan butter I added about a teaspoon of brown sugar, a pinch of salt, and a dash each of cinnamon and nutmeg.

 

Excuse my lame pictures. I need to remember to actually take pictures as I’m making things instead of making something and then going “Oh I should blog about that”.  Some day I’ll learn.

Anyways…if you like nut butter and you want the healthiest and possibly the cheapest version of your favorite try making some yourself!

