And the Results are in…

Results of what?  Well 2 things…

I’ve been accepted to my top choice combined Master’s and Dietetic Internship program through SUNY Oneonta! This means that starting in June I will be living a crazy year of online graduate courses and internship experiences (and wedding planning)!  I’m so excited!

Now, that other thing…well it’s not quite so exciting for me.  I got the results of my ALCAT testing.  Remember a couple of weeks ago I talked about David Ortiz and his new diet based on his results?  Well now it’s my turn to try tweaking my diet in order to address my “intolerances”.  I was surprised, to say the least, when I got my results.  I’ve never noticed have sensitivities to certain foods, little did I know my body isn’t a fan of a lot of foods.

First, let me recap what exactly the ALCAT testing does and what it means.  ALCAT testing, an acronym for antigen leukocyte cellular antibody test, claims to be the most effective and comprehensive sensitivity/intolerance test available.  It identifies sensitivities and intolerances that do not present your typical “allergic reactions”. The ALCAT test is a blood test that measures the body’s response to various foods, food additives, environmental chemicals, antibiotics, molds, and other substances at a cellular level.

The foods that are tested are divided into 4 groups by color.

Red: Foods listed indicate a severe reaction and should be avoided at all costs for a minimum of 6 months.

Orange: Foods listed indicate a moderate reaction and should be strictly avoided for a minimum of 3 to 6 months.

Yellow: Foods listed indicate a mild reaction and should be avoided if possible, especially if there are few red and orange foods. If eaten, these should only be eaten on one day in four to prevent increased reactivity.

Green: Foods listed indicate no reaction and can be eaten freely on a rotation basis, no more than every other day.

Here are my results (click to see full size):

Foods that my body has a severe intolerance to are cabbage, ginger, macadamia, mackerel, mussel, spelt, and squid.  Not a huge upset.  I love ginger and the occasional calamari, but can live without.  Guess I’ll be avoiding these foods for 6 months.

As for foods I’m showing to be moderately intolerant to are anchovies, asparagus, black currant, brussel sprouts, canola oil, carrot, chamomile, fava beans, fennel seed, flounder, hops, kelp, lima beans, olives, pine nuts, plum, rosemary, safflower, sage, and wheat.  Surprisingly A LOT of foods.  Hardest ones to avoid? Definitely canola oil and wheat since they are in lots of things.  I can’t believe I’m really supposed to avoid carrots for 3-6 months, I eat baby carrots on the regular.  Avoiding hops, means no beer, but I don’t regularly eat any of the other foods except occasionally rosemary and sage as seasonings on foods.

Evidently, I have a mild intolerance to 50 foods!  If you really wan to know all 50 you can look at the image, I won’t bother listing them all again. This list includes a lot of fruits and some vegetables, in addition to some other regulars in my diet like almonds, cinnamon, honey and soy.  Luckily, these foods only need to eaten on a 4 day rotation.

Other interesting findings include moderate intolerance to food colorings blue #1 and green #3, MSG, sorbic acid and polysorbate 80  (preservatives), and stevia.  Also, mild intolerance to red #1, red #40, BHT (common cosmetic and petroleum additive), Splenda, and xylitol (sugar alcohol).

So what does this all mean for me?  It means I’m being my own guinea pig to see if cutting out these items as recommended will make a difference i

n my health.  Who knows, maybe my skin will become clearer, or that extra 10 pounds will come off easier, or maybe my anxiety levels will go down.  I guess we’ll see!

The Plan:

First, I need to finish off a bag of baby carrots and figure out a strategy to decrease my wheat consumption.  I’m not sure I can just cut out wheat cold turkey.  I know I have a few supporters of me going gluten free, as well as some protestors.  I’m going to start reducing it and see how that goes.  I should be able to eliminate the rest of the red and orange foods without too much trouble.

As far as the yellow foods go, a 4 day rotation shouldn’t be too hard.  It just means I’ll have to buy smaller amounts of a couple different fruits and veggies instead of buying bulk of one item and eating everyday until they’re gone.

I’ll try to have a weekly update of how things are going and if I’m noticing any difference. 🙂

2 responses

  1. Pingback: First Reflections and a New Plan « Miss Nutritionista

Comments are closed.