Leftover Remix

First off, I’ve realized I need to find a way to be consistent with this blog. I’ve obviously found that posting several times a week isn’t going to work for me.  Therefore, I’m going to start by just posting once a week on Tuesday.  From there I might throw in an extra post here or there, but you can count on a new post every Tuesday for sure.  🙂

Something Renee and I encourage clients to do for an easy lunch is to pack leftovers from dinner the night before.  I know that not everyone likes eating the same thing two meals in a row, so I often try to turn leftovers from one meal into something different for the next.  Usually this just means throwing taco meat on a salad, or chopping up chicken and making chicken salad.  However, this week I found another easy transformation.

The other night Matt made delicious mashed butternut squash and gala apples with cinnamon and nutmeg.  A whole butternut squash makes more than enough for 2 people, even for two meals, and I hate throwing out food so I knew I’d have to do something to make eating squash for 3 days a little more exciting.  I decided to try my hand at butternut squash soup.  I googled around and looked at a few recipes and decided to just wing it.  I threw the mashed up squash, apple and spice mixture into the blender and added milk a little at a time until I got a thick soup consistency.  I added a splash of apple cider for a little more sweetness, then put it on the stove to heat up.  Result?  Delicious, thick soup.  I suppose it would be more of a bisque.  Whatever you wanna call it, it was pretty tasty.  Easy transformation from dinner side dish, to lunch soup.

Do you think I actually got pictures of all these steps? Negative, this is kinda what each version looked like.

Other ideas for remaking leftovers:

  • Pasta?  Pasta salad:  Mix it up with some fresh veggies, diced lunch meat and cheese, and salad dressing.
  • Potatoes?  Dice ’em up and saute them in a pan for home fries at breakfast.
  • Steak?  Slice it thin, saute with onions and peppers, add melted cheese and put on a roll for a steak and cheese sandwich.
  • Chicken?  Dice it up with some celery, carrots and/or relish add some mayo, ranch or plain yogurt for chicken salad.
  • A little bit of everything?  Throw it all in one pan with soy sauce or teriyaki sauce and your choice of spices for a quick and easy stir-fry.
  • You can pretty much throw any left overs over a bed of lettuce/greens for a salad.
