Latest Kitchen Adventures

I’ll admit it, I’ve been seriously slacking on this blog.  Not sure why, but I just haven’t felt like I could think of anything interesting to post.  (If you have any ideas or something you’d like to see please tell me)  So today I figured I’d give you a little run down of my latest food adventures.  As you might already know, I love to cook/bake.  In the past week I tackled a few new things in the kitchen.

My first challenge–spaghetti squash.  I’ve never been a huge squash lover (besides pumpkin), but last year I had spaghetti squash for the first time that I could remember and it was delicious.  Since fall is prime time for squash I decided to pick one up at the store and give it a try.  Preparing spaghetti squash is really easy, the hardest part was actually cutting the raw squash in half.  If you try it yourself make sure to use a big, sharp knife.  Once I cut it in half I put in 13×9 Pyrex dish cut side down with enough water to cover the bottom of the pan.  I cooked it between 45min and an hour, then took it would and used a fork to pull apart the flesh into “spaghetti”.  We ate the squash with some marina sauce and Italian sausage.  The taste is mild, and works well in the place of pasta, the texture it just a little different.

Spaghetti squash in part of the winter squash family and is known for providing a special blend of alpha and beta-carotenoids.  No single food provides a greater percentage of certain carotenoids than winter squash.  Spaghetti squash is not only full of antioxidants, but it also has anti-inflammatory and anti-diabetic properties.  (source)

My second project was a little less healthy, chocolate bread pudding.  I took a whole bunch of left over Portuguese rolls home for work the other night determined to take a shot at bread pudding.  Even though I had helped make it in my food service class last fall, I did not realize the amount of time and steps actually went into bread pudding.  Luckily, I found a much simpler recipe that I had all the ingredients for…or so I thought.  The recipe calls for 12oz of semi-sweet chocolate chips.  Well, I only had about 2oz of chocolate chips, so I went through the cabinets and found a hand full of Hershey’s kisses and a bar of extra dark chocolate.  In went the mixture of chocolate and 2 hours later we had a tasty chocolate bread pudding that we topped with mud pie ice cream (since we were missing whipped cream).  I thought it was mighty tasty and Matt and the neighbors seemed to agree.  I recommend trying this recipe for a slightly lighter and easier version of bread pudding :).  I didn’t think to take a picture of it, so please enjoy the picture from the recipe.

