“Crunches like an Apple. Tastes like a Grape.”

I started this post about a month ago when I first heard about grapples, but post-poned it while I waited for them to be in season so mayyybe I could try them or at least check them out.  Well I still haven’t found them so I figured this would be a good follow-up to yesterdays post, and I’ll report back if I ever find them.  Maybe it’s just me, but I don’t really understand why you would want an apple to taste like a grape.  Personally, I enjoy apples for the fact that they taste like apples.

A Grāpple® (pronounced grape-L) is a Washington Extra Fancy Gala or Fuji apple that is bathed in natural and artificial concentrated grape flavor and water.  There’s no extra sugar or calories, and they’re not genetically modified, they are simply grape-flavored apples.  According to their Facebook page “The flavor is similar to biting into a very sweet Fuji apple, and then swishing your mouth with concord grape juice. (for clarification we do not use grape juice in our process, but artificial and natural grape flavor).”

Anyway, I’m not sure what to make of grapples, especially since I’ve yet to meet one personally.  I contacted the company hoping they’d send me a free sample, but no response. Let me know if you’ve tried them!

In other news, and follow-up to previous posts, researchers from Harvard found that drinking 2 to 3 cups of coffee a day cuts depression risk in women.  Great news just in time for National Coffee Day on Thursday (September 29th), so make sure to go out and enjoy a nice cup of joe (or 2 or 3) 🙂

