Bite-ometer?

The simply stated, well known equation to weight loss is “eat less, exercise more”.  Easier said than done, believe me, I know.  However, now you can have the latest technological device to aid you in solving this equation…The Bite Counter!

“The Bite Counter, a wristwatch-shaped device being marketed to weight-loss clinics and fitness professionals, uses technology developed by a Clemson University team for the military to track body movements in clearing buildings of insurgents in Iraq, says Adam Hoover, an electrical engineering professor who handled the technical aspects of the design.” (source)

(source)

This device counts the specific wrist rotation that is associated with fork to mouth/hand to mouth movement. It is claimed to be 90% accurate in counting this motion.  The inventors also found that the average bite is approximately 25 calories.  The basic idea is that this device will make users more aware of how much they’re eating, which is in line with America’s biggest problem, portion control.  To begin, I have a few questions:

  1. How accurate is that 25 calories by bite? I know not everyone takes the same size bites.  Also, not all “bites” are equal.  Say for example, I can pop a whole Lindt truffle into my mouth with one hand to mouth movement.  One truffle checks in at about 75 calories, 3 times what they say is equal to one bite.  They state on their website that it the amount of calories averages out, but I think it really depends on several factors.  I suppose it is assumed that those using the device will have an understanding of healthy eating and just need more help with the portion control.
  2. Who is really going to shell out $799 for this device? I know people spend exorbitant amounts of money on gimmicky health/weight loss products, but really? $799?

Overall, I think this device may be good in theory, but is a little unnecessary. It’s great that it increases awareness, but I believe there’s better and cheaper methods of achieving this awareness.

  • Be aware of why you’re eating.  A lot of people, me included, have a problem of eating when they’re not hungry.  We eat when we’re bored, we eat when we’re stressed, we eat because other people around us are eating.  Try to listen to your body.  Are you really hungry?  If you’re not, find something else to take the place of eating.  Bored?  Read a book, take a walk, call a friend, practice a hobby.  Stressed?  Stop for a minute and take a deep breath, tell someone how you’re feeling, exercise.  You get the idea, right?
  • Be aware of what and how much you’re eating.  My motto is “everything in moderation”.  It’s fine to have dessert (I’m pretty sure I do everyday), but don’t each half a carton of ice cream.  Portion out the food into a bowl.  Don’t eat chips out of the bag, take a handful and put the bag away.  This keeps you aware of how much you’re eating.  As you’re eating pay attention, don’t mindless shovel food into your mouth while watching TV.  Being mindful to the taste of the food.  Chew every bite fully.  This will help you control how much you eat and feel much more satisfied. Realize your mind takes about 20 minutes to realize your stomach is full.  Wait a little while before going back for more to see if you are really hungry.

So that’s my take on the Bite Counter, and how I think you can get on without it.  If you feel like shelling out $799 for help with portion control elsewhere, I now offer private consultations.  If you mention this blog you’ll receive a generous discount from the $799.  You can visit the office or I can come to your home. 😉

2 responses

  1. I must agree, if you make sure you put your portions on a plate, and put the food container away, you will keep portion control. Stop and enjoy the food and you realize when you are full.

Comments are closed.